Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Manning Announces BroadbandOhio Connectivity Grant Winners

September 11, 2020
Gayle Manning News

State Rep. Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) announces several local school districts as winners of the K-12 BroadbandOhio Connectivity Grant. The grant was announced in July as the state Controlling Board approved the allocation of CARES Act funding towards helping students gain internet access across Ohio.

“It’s great to see that our schools are going to benefit from these critical grants that will enhance online education in our schools,” said Manning. “Accessible and quick internet is what our students need, especially during this pandemic.”

The local schools in Lorain County that qualified as winners of the grant includes:

  • Avon Lake City School District
  • Clearview Local School District
  • Columbia Local School District
  • Constellation Schools: Elyria Community
  • Constellation Schools: Lorain Community Elementary
  • Constellation Schools: Lorain Community Middle
  • Elyria City School District
  • Firelands Local School District
  • Horizon Science Academy Lorain
  • Keystone Local School District
  • Lorain Bilingual Preparatory Academy
  • Lorain City School District
  • Lorain Bilingual Preparatory Academy
  • Midview Local School District
  • North Ridgeville City School District
  • Oberlin City School District
  • Summit Academy Community School Alternative Learners
  • Summit Academy School – Lorain
  • Wellington Exempted Village School District
  • The Educational Service Center of Lorain County

In total, according to the governor’s administration, the BroadbandOhio Connectivity grant initiative approved 951 grants to help over 121,000 students gain high-speed internet in their homes and over 651,000 students having a place to go to access internet through the creation of new public and mobile wi-fi spaces.