Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Russo to serve on the Ohio Health Oversight and Advisory Committee

Lawmaker brings health policy expertise to important position
July 9, 2021
C. Allison Russo News

COLUMBUS — State Rep. Allison Russo (D-Upper Arlington) today announced her appointment as Ranking Member to the Ohio Health Oversight and Advisory Committee.  Established by Senate Bill 22, which went into effect June 23, 2021 and passed notwithstanding the objections of the governor, the committee is authorized to oversee actions taken by the governor, the Ohio Department of Health (ODH), or any agency in response to a state of emergency; as well as to consult with and advise the governor, ODH or other agencies during a state of emergency.  The committee is also authorized to oversee actions taken by ODH and the Director of Health for the prevention of disease spread or the controlling of the cause of disease.

“The COVID-19 pandemic and the prevalence of the delta variant here in the United States underscores the need for trust in our medical and public health experts and the implementation of nimble, effective measures during future state of emergencies,” said Rep. Russo. “I look forward to bringing my public health experience to this committee to promote efficiency and public safety in this and future public health emergency situations.”

Rep. Russo is one of three members of the House to be selected for this committee.  She currently serves as Ranking Member for the Ohio House Health Committee, in addition to serving on the Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee and Health and Human Services Finance Subcommittee.  Additionally, Rep. Russo has spent the last two decades advising leaders and policymakers on issues related to the healthcare needs of seniors, vulnerable populations, veterans and military families.  She holds a doctoral degree in public health policy from The George Washington University and a master’s degree in public health epidemiology from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.