Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Russo statement on state mask mandate for Franklin County

County falls in Level 3 of the state's new COVID-19 alert system
July 7, 2020
C. Allison Russo News

COLUMBUS—State Rep. Allison Russo (D-Upper Arlington) issued a statement today following Gov. DeWine’s executive order to require facemasks in several Ohio counties, including Butler, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Huron, Montgomery, and Trumbull. Each of the counties falls within Level 3 of the state’s new Public Health Advisory System, which was unveiled July 2. Level 3 indicates very high exposure and spread of coronavirus.

Several cities in Ohio have already moved to require facemasks, including Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus and Dayton.

“Given the alarming spread of COVID-19 in Franklin County in recent weeks, I applaud the Governor’s mask requirement,” Rep. Russo said.  “There is clear evidence demonstrating that wearing masks helps.  We need to listen to our medical professionals and put public health first while prioritizing the safety and well-being of our most vulnerable neighbors, especially if we are to protect our local economy.”