Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Russo announces local recipients of the BroadbandOhio Connectivity Grant program

September 14, 2020
C. Allison Russo News

COLUMBUS – State Rep. Allison Russo (D-Upper Arlington) today announced local recipients of the BroadbandOhio Connectivity Grant program.  Awards from the Governor’s office were given to the following area school districts:

  • $151,466.16 to Columbus City School District
  • $92,377.40 to Hilliard City School District
  • $151,466.16 to Southwestern City School District
  • $21,811.13 to Upper Arlington City School District

Franklin County received $5,135,826.65 of the total $50 million allocated to expand high-speed internet access for Ohio students utilizing remote learning during the COVID-19 crisis by providing hotspots and internet-enabled devices to students.

Although a matching funds grant program was initially proposed as a method of distribution to school districts, the advocacy efforts of the Ohio Legislative Children’s Caucus Chairs, Representative Allison Russo and Senator Peggy Lehner (R-Dayton), along with other advocacy groups resulted in the removal of that requirement.

“This grant is an important first step towards mitigating inequities in education for Ohio’s children, and I am pleased Governor DeWine heeded our recommendation to remove the funds matching portion of the grant,” said Rep. Russo. “The funds from the Broadband Connectivity Ohio Grant program will provide much needed support for our students, schools, and infrastructure as we implement hybrid and distance programs during this critical time.”

A complete list of all recipients of the grant can be found at