Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Sweeney statement on state mask mandate for Cuyahoga County

County falls in Level 3 of the state's new COVID-19 alert system
July 7, 2020
Bride Rose Sweeney News

COLUMBUS—State Rep. Bride Rose Sweeney (D-Cleveland) issued a statement today following Gov. DeWine’s executive order to require facemasks in several Ohio counties, including Butler, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Huron, Montgomery, and Trumbull. Each of the counties falls within Level 3 of the state’s new Public Health Advisory System, which was unveiled July 2. Level 3 indicates very high exposure and spread of coronavirus.

Several cities in Ohio have already moved to require facemasks, including Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus and Dayton.

“Fighting this pandemic should not be a partisan issue. The recent surge of COVID-19 cases in Cuyahoga County and across Ohio should concern everyone. We must transcend our polarized politics in order to save lives and protect our economy at the same time,” said Rep. Sweeney. “Wearing a mask in public is a simple yet effective way to slow the spread of this airborne virus. Each of us must do our part to protect essential workers, care for the most vulnerable among us, and avoid the devastating impact of another shutdown on working families.”