Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Patterson's school safety legislation brings $12 million statewide for local safety improvements

Area schools to get safety funds based on Patterson's new bipartisan law
September 21, 2018
Democratic Newsroom

State Rep. John Patterson (D-Jefferson) today announced over 1,700 schools throughout the state will share in some $12 million in school safety grants made possible through the Jefferson lawmaker’s bipartisan legislation, House Bill 318. The state grants require local schools and county board to work with local law enforcement to determine the best use of the funds.

“The ability to foster safe, healthy, and supportive environments in schools is crucial to the wellbeing and education of our children,” said Patterson, “When we invest training, safety equipment, and critical educational and mental health resources, we invest in their future.”

Locally, schools in House District 99 received a combined $111,259.30 to make local school buildings safer under Patterson’s bill.

Each school received a letter this week detailing how to access their awards between Oct. 1 and June, 30, 2019.

*A list of local awards is pasted below.

Schools to Receive Funding Include:

Ashtabula Area Schools : $19,520.75
Ashtabula County Career and Technical Campus : $ 2,500.00
Assumption School : $2,500.00
Buckeye Local Schools :  $9,814.05
Berkshire Local Schools: $6,842.15
Cardinal Local Schools: $5,367.50
Chardon Local Schools: $ 15,588.35
Conneaut Area City Schools: $9,085.20
Geneva Area City Schools: $12,955.45
Grand Valley Local Schools: $ 6,203.70
Grand River Academy: $2,500.00
Jefferson Local Schools: $9,226.45
Pymatuning Valley Local Schools: $6,655.70
Saint John School: $2,500.00