Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

County's new state representatives sworn into office in Columbus

Published By Star Beacon on January 6, 2021
Sarah Fowler Arthur In The News

Ashtabula County has two new voices in Columbus after newly elected State Rep. Sarah Fowler-Arthur and newly elected State Senator Sandra O’Brien were sworn into office.

Fowler-Arthur, a Republican, now represents the 99th District, which includes parts of Ashtabula and Geauga counties. She was elected in November, defeating local attorney Richard Dana, 28,918 to 20,356, according to results from the Ohio Secretary of State.

Fowler-Arthur previously served as a state school board member since 2013.

“I am very humbled to join my new colleagues today by being sworn-in to the 134th General Assembly,” Fowler-Arthur said in a statement. “After this difficult past year, I want to ensure that my constituents of the 99th District have a voice down in Columbus and I intend to deliver on their needs.”

Fowler-Arthur replaces John Patterson, a Democrat, who did not seek re-election due to term limits.

Fowler-Arthur plans to focus on agriculture, economic development, tourism and taking care of veterans, she said in the statement.

Ohio House members serve two-year terms and are limitedto four-consecutive terms.

O’Brien, a Republican was also sworn-in in Columbus, after defeating incumbent Sean O’Brien in November’s election. Sandra O’Brien received 77,404 votes to Sean O’Brien’s 74,367, according to vote totals from the Ohio Secretary of State.

Sandra O’Brien will represent the 32nd Senate District, which covers Ashtabula and Trumbull counties, and portions of Geauga County.

“I am honored to represent the voices of the people in the 32nd Senate District,” O’Brien said in a statement. “I look forward to working hard with my colleagues to build a stronger Ohio.”

O’Brien previously served as Ashtabula County Auditor and was a teacher at the elementary and collegiate level, according to the statement.

State senators serve four-year terms, and are limited to two consecutive terms.

Read Full Article