Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

House Passes Resolution Urging The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021

December 9, 2021
Rodney Creech News

COLUMBUS – The Ohio House of Representatives today passed House Concurrent Resolution 13 urging Congress to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021, which would make daylight saving time (DST) the permanent standard time.

“We simply no longer need the biannual tradition of changing our clocks,” said State Rep. Rodney Creech (R-West Alexandria), a joint sponsor of the resolution. “Enacting The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 would not only simplify our lives, it would also help to protect the safety and well-being of Ohioans.”

Daylight Saving Time was first adopted in 1918 during World War I to conserve energy and was not formally adopted until 1966 with the Uniform Time Act. Under the Uniform Time Act, states can switch to standard time but not DST, therefore requiring a change to federal law in order to permanently transition to DST. 

“No matter what we do, there are still 24 hours in each day and the tilt of the earth still changes the length of time the sun shines in each season,” said joint sponsor Kyle Koehler (R-Springfield). “Permanently transitioning to DST will only save Ohioans’ from the unnecessary disruption of changing our clocks twice a year.”

The resolution sponsors also noted the benefits of DST include additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety and crime reduction. 

As of March 2021, 14 states have passed laws, resolutions or voter initiatives for permanent DST, and dozens more are looking.

H.C.R. 13 passed in the House with a vote of 58-33, and will now head to the Ohio Senate for further consideration.