State Rep. Tim Ginter (R-Salem) announces the General Assembly has advanced his legislation, House Bill 17, which allows an increased homestead exemption for a spouse of a fallen first responder who passes away in the line of duty. The bill will now head to the governor and awaits his signature.
“There could be no more appropriate description of the spirit and goal of House Bill 17,” said Ginter. “To provide some monetary relief to the spouses of our first responders who make the ultimate sacrifice while protecting and serving the public.”
For those spouses of fallen first responders, the legislation exempts $50,000 of the home's appraised value or cost from property taxation or the manufactured home tax. Additionally, the bill exempts that spouse from the income means test, currently $32,800 in Ohio adjusted gross income.
The $50,000 homestead exemption is an increase as current law only carries an exemption of $25,000.
Additionally, as with the existing homestead exemption, local taxing units would be reimbursed by the state for the reduction in property tax revenue that results from the bill's extended exemption.
House Bill 17 originally passed out of the Ohio House unanimously in November 2019 and was passed out of the Senate earlier this week. The bill now awaits further action by the governor.