State Rep. Tim Ginter (R-Salem) announces the governor has signed Ginter’s House Bill 17 into law, which allows an increased homestead exemption for a spouse of a fallen first responder who passes away in the line of duty. Ginter attended the virtual signing ceremony for the bill earlier today.
“I am very pleased to see the governor moving forward today in making this honorable legislation law,” said Ginter. “Providing important relief to spouses of our first responders who make the ultimate sacrifice while protecting and serving the public is the right thing to do.”
For those spouses of fallen first responders, the legislation exempts $50,000 of the home's appraised value or cost from property taxation or the manufactured home tax. Additionally, the bill exempts that spouse from the income means test, currently $32,800 in Ohio adjusted gross income.
The $50,000 homestead exemption is an increase as current law only carries an exemption of $25,000.
Additionally, as with the existing homestead exemption, local taxing units would be reimbursed by the state for the reduction in property tax revenue that results from the bill's extended exemption.
House Bill 17 originally passed out of the Ohio House unanimously in November 2019 and was passed out of the Senate last month. The provisions of the legislation on the homestead exemption for spouses of fallen first responders will take effect for the 2020 tax year or in the case of homes that are subject to the manufactured home tax, in tax year 2021.