Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Galonski statement on state mask mandate for Summit County

County falls in Level 3 of the state's new COVID-19 alert system
July 10, 2020
Tavia Galonski News

COLUMBUS—State Rep. Tavia Galonski (D-Akron) issued a statement today following Gov. DeWine’s executive order to require facemasks in Summit County. Summit County is one of 12 counties, including Clermont, Fairfield, Lorain, Pickaway, Summit, Wood, Butler, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Montgomery and Trumbull, that are subject to the governor’s mask mandate. Each of the counties falls within Level 3 of the state’s new Public Health Advisory System, which was unveiled July 2. Level 3 indicates very high exposure and spread of coronavirus.

Several cities in Ohio have already moved to require facemasks, including Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus and Dayton.

“As Dr. Acton once said, ‘I’m not afraid, I’m determined’.  I too am determined the Summit County making masks part of our everyday routine will slow the spread of COVID-19 and keep our most vulnerable safe.  The fight against this virus is far from over and we need to be diligent with our actions for the sake of our neighbors and healthcare workers.  We cannot forget that we are in this together,” Rep. Galonski said.