Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Galonski criticizes Republican leadership for dragging out Speaker vote

Ryan Smith elected Speaker of the House after an unprecedented eleventh round vote
June 6, 2018
Tavia Galonski News

State Rep. Tavia Galonski (D-Akron) today responded to the House session vote for a new Speaker after seven weeks of a legislative deadlock.

“Today’s session was embarrassing for this General Assembly and is a disgrace towards our constituents,” Galonski said. “This entire process has been a long, drawn out fight within the Republican majority who still could not put up a candidate that could garner a majority vote. Speaker Smith won on a plurality, not a majority. The fact of the matter is the majority of the House does not believe Smith should lead. Democrats and Republicans alike are apprehensive and demonstrated so with their votes today”.

Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) was elected Speaker of the House on Wednesday after eleven rounds of voting.  Smith won his seat by achieving a plurality of votes against Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton), Rep. Jim Hughes (R-Upper Arlington) and Rep. Andy Thompson (R-Marietta). Per House rules, if there is no majority winner after the first round of voting, the House will proceed to vote for nine more rounds in an attempt to reach a majority. In the event of no majority reached after the tenth round, the nominee receiving the plurality after the eleventh vote becomes Speaker. Typically, the majority party gets behind one nominee to ensure a smooth transition process from Speaker to Speaker. However, weeks of infighting within the Republican Party created multiple factions with no nominee having a definitive majority. 

Smith begun his speakership effective immediately.