Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Kent Smith statement on state mask mandate for Cuyahoga County

County falls in Level 3 of the state's new COVID-19 alert system
July 7, 2020
Kent Smith News

COLUMBUS—State Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid) issued a statement today following Gov. DeWine’s executive order to require facemasks in several Ohio counties, including Butler, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Huron, Montgomery, and Trumbull. Each of the counties falls within Level 3 of the state’s new Public Health Advisory System, which was unveiled July 2. Level 3 indicates very high exposure and spread of coronavirus.

The order begins at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, July 8. The governor's mask order will mandate masks in most public, indoor settings, such as stores and restaurants, within these Level 3 counties. 

Several cities in Ohio have already moved to require facemasks, including Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus and Dayton.

“The majority of COVID-19 spread has been linked to droplets which are expelled individually by coughs, sneezes and conversations.  Masks help reduce droplets that may contain the coronavirus; therefore, while they are not foolproof, they are effective deterrents,” said Rep. Smith. “This disease is not going away anytime soon.  This is a very serious challenge, and we must take action.  We all have a shared responsibility to protect ourselves and our neighbors.  This is no longer a political issue.  Mask wearing needs to be viewed like wearing a safety belt while riding in a car or not smoking in an airplane.  I hope the residents of Ohio's 8th House District and the rest of the state will join me in wearing a mask when our daily activities lead us to an indoor, public location.  We truly are All In This Together Ohio.”