COLUMBUS – State Rep. Jena Powell (R-Arcanum) announced Governor DeWine has signed House Bill 614 into law. The legislation will improve Ohio’s unemployment compensation application process and extends the expiration date of concealed handgun licenses.
“I’m proud to support legislation that protects Second Amendment rights and finds solutions to improve the broken unemployment compensation system,” said Powell. “The current system failed too many Ohioans, and this bill will help ensure that will not happen again.”
H.B. 614 creates the Unemployment Compensation Modernization and Improvement Council to evaluate the claim filing process and technological infrastructure, as well as examine ways to maximize the responsiveness for individual applicants and employers. The Auditor of State is required to examine and make recommendations on the efficiency of the process, and the Director of ODJFS is required to create a constituent referral system and strategic staffing plan to further assist Ohioans.
The legislation also provides an expiration date extension for concealed handgun licenses. Under the bill, any license that would have expired beginning on March 9, 2020 is extended until June 30, 2021 or 90 days after the license would have expired, whichever is later.
“Signing House Bill 614 into law is another step forward in making sure government works for the people,” added Powell.
The bill also contains $650 million of COVID-19 relief funding for counties, municipalities and townships for COVID-19 pandemic-related expenses incurred between March 1st and the end of 2020.
Governor DeWine signed the legislation yesterday. Due to an emergency clause, the bill is effective immediately.