State Representative Wes Retherford (R-Hamilton) recently was named a “Defender of Liberty” by the American Conservative Union (ACU) in its ratings of the Ohio General Assembly.

Retherford was one of five state representatives and three state senators in Ohio to receive the award.

"It is an honor to receive this award,” Retherford said. ”Throughout my time the in legislature, I have applied the common-sense conservative thinking that my district expects into every decision I make. I look forward to earning the Defender of Liberty Award again in this coming year.”

In 2011, the ACU expanded its annual congressional ratings to the state level. At the time, Ohio was one of five states to be under review by the organization. This year, the list consisted of 20 states. Among the issues the ACU uses to determine its ratings are constitutionally limited government, individual liberty, free markets and traditional values.

“The Ohio General Assembly is to be commended for continuing to support broad based tax relief, expansion of school choice and efforts to promote childbirth over abortion and measures to update the voter database to protect the integrity of the ballot in 2013,” ACU Chairman Al Cardenas said.

State Representative Wes Retherford is serving his first term in the Ohio House of Representatives. He represents the 51st House District, which encompasses portions of Butler County, including the cities of Hamilton and Fairfield, Ross Township, and portions of Fairfield, Hanover, and St. Clair townships.

Featured Posts

Retherford And Dovilla Introduce Ohio Elder Justice Act


State Representatives Wes Retherford (R-Hamilton) and Mike Dovilla (R-Berea) today held a press conference with Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine to discuss the Ohio Elder Justice Act, recently introduced legislation that aims to protect older Ohioans from abuse and financial exploitation.


Wes Retherford Sworn In As State Representative Of The 51st House District


State Representative Wes Retherford (R-Hamilton) today was sworn in as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 130th General Assembly. He represents the 51st Ohio House District, which includes portions of southern Butler County.