COLUMBUS - 

Representative Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster) announced that Ohio's first-ever, one-time Sales Tax Holiday will begin on Friday, August 7th and will end on Sunday, August 9th. This initiative was created through Senate Bill 243, signed into law in December of 2014.


Scaffer, while serving in the Ohio Senate last year, helped to shepherd the legislation through to passage when he served as chairman of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means.


"Back to school shopping can put a huge strain on the pocket books of Ohio families," Schaffer said. "This will help ease the burden on family finances and allow Ohioans to put the money saved to other uses."


Tax exempt items are as follows:


>Clothing priced at $75 or less


>School supplies priced at $20 or less


>School instructional material priced at $20 or less


These price limits apply on a per-item basis, and Ohioans can purchase as many items as they need. Items with a price higher than these limits will be taxed at the standard rate.


Additional information on the Sales Tax Holiday is available through the Ohio Department of Taxation at http://www.tax.ohio.gov/sales_and_use/SalesTaxHoliday.aspx.

 
 
 
  
Featured Posts