COLUMBUS—State Representative Steve Arndt (R-Port Clinton) announced that the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for their 2018 class of outstanding veterans and encourages community members to nominate local veterans.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame honors Ohio veterans who not only served our nation dutifully, but also continued to contribute to their communities through advocacy and public service.

Members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame include 2003 Honoree Robert B. Armbruster of Ottawa County, who served in United States Navy in World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War. In addition to his naval accomplishments, Mr. Armbruster was a founding member of the Ottawa County Community Foundation and active in multiple other community organizations.

Another fellow Honoree, class of 2015 Ernest H. Bowman of Erie County, who served in World War II, is also an active member in our community. Wanting to support the veteran community, Mr. Bowman served as the post chaplain for the Legion for twenty years and made daily trips to the local hospital to visit the sick and drive veterans to VA medical appointments.

“In the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame, we hope to pay tribute to our finest Americans. The men and women of our armed services wake up every day and give all of themselves to something bigger than themselves,” said Arndt. “We are forever grateful for their bravery and sacrifice. I encourage my constituents to nominate the honorable veteran in their life.

An eligible veteran must meet the following criteria: be a past or current Ohio resident, have received an honorable discharge, and be of good moral character. Guidelines and more information can be found at, along with a form to fill out and mail in as a part of the nomination packet. Applications are due by June 1, 2018.

Featured Posts

Rep. Arndt Honored To Attend Memorial Picnic Area Dedication

Columbus - 

State Representative Steve Arndt (R-Port Clinton) will be attending the dedication for a new memorial picnic area named in honor of his constituent, Henry T. Beatty, for his civic contributions to the Kelleys Island community.


Rep. Arndt Supports Changes To Bill Aimed At Updating Voting Machines In Ohio

Columbus - 

State Representative Steve Arndt (R-Port Clinton) joined Rep. Bill Blessing (R-Colerain Township) and Senator Frank LaRose (R-Hudson) to propose changes to Senate Bill 135, which provides funding to assist counties in upgrading their outdated voting equipment.