SANDUSKY—State Representatives Steve Arndt (R-Port Clinton) and Michael P. Sheehy (D-Oregon) will attend a memorial highway dedication ceremony honoring late State Representative Frederick H. Deering today, Monday, August 28 at 5:00 p.m. at Sandusky City Hall. Deering served as the state representative for Erie, Ottawa and portions of Lucas and Wood counties for 20 years and introduced over 80 bills and amendments written into Ohio law.

“Rep. Deering epitomized what a public servant and state representative should be,” said Arndt. “During his extensive public service career, he worked tirelessly on legislation that shapes the fabric of our state’s laws today, including the Current Agricultural Use Value law and numerous highway-funding bills. Naming a road in honor of his memory seems particularly fitting, and this honor is long overdue.”

Rep. Deering’s career in public service began with 12 years as an Erie County Commissioner and concluded with a 13-year stretch as the Erie Metro Parks Commissioner. As a lifelong Lake Erie resident and farm operator, Rep. Deering sponsored key legislation regarding state practices on conservation and agriculture, focused on strengthening limitations for drainage and pesticides.

“As a constituent of Rep. Deering for a number of years, I always admired his indisputable passion for public service as he worked to make our community, and our state, a better place for everyone,” said Sheehy. “This highway dedication is just one small way we can honor his selfless service, and I am proud to attend its dedication along with Rep. Arndt and the Deering family.”

The portion of State Route 4 beginning in Bucyrus, where it intersects with State Route 98, and ending in the City of Sandusky will be named the “Rep. Frederick H. Deering Memorial Highway”. The road naming was included as part of Senate Bill 182 in the 131st General Assembly, which was cosponsored by Reps. Arndt and Sheehy.
WHO:                   State Rep. Steve Arndt
                            State Rep. Michael Sheehy
                            State Sen. Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green)
                            Sandusky City Commissioners Dennis Murray, Dick Brady, Nikki Lloyd, Greg Lockhart, Wes Poole, Naomi Twine and Dave Waddington
                            Perkins Township Trustees Jeff Ferrell, Tim Coleman and Jim Lang
WHERE:                Sandusky City Hall
                            222 Meigs Street
                            Sandusky, OH 44870

WHEN:                  Monday, August 28th from 5:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Featured Posts

Rep. Arndt Honored To Attend Memorial Picnic Area Dedication

Columbus - 

State Representative Steve Arndt (R-Port Clinton) will be attending the dedication for a new memorial picnic area named in honor of his constituent, Henry T. Beatty, for his civic contributions to the Kelleys Island community.


Rep. Arndt Supports Changes To Bill Aimed At Updating Voting Machines In Ohio

Columbus - 

State Representative Steve Arndt (R-Port Clinton) joined Rep. Bill Blessing (R-Colerain Township) and Senator Frank LaRose (R-Hudson) to propose changes to Senate Bill 135, which provides funding to assist counties in upgrading their outdated voting equipment.