State Representative Scott Wiggam (R-Wooster) today announced the passage of the “Protect Local Treasuries Act,” which seeks to update the mandatory process by which local governments purchase bonds to protect against unfaithful acts of public officials.

House Bill 291 would allow certain political subdivisions to purchase insurance instead of bonds to protect its treasury—and thereby taxpayer dollars—in the event of dishonest or fraudulent actions by an elected or public official. This change modernizes a practice that has been in place in Ohio for more than sixty years, saving local governments time, resources, and money.

“As a County Commissioner for twelve years, I personally witnessed the time, resources, and tax dollars the county was forced to spend on useless bonds,” said Wiggam. “This bill empowers local governments to make decisions based upon the best interest of the taxpayers and to save their money.”

House Bill 291, a part of the Ohio House Republican Caucus’ “Buckeye Pathway” agenda, now awaits consideration by the Ohio Senate.

Featured Posts

Ohio House Passes Legislation Expanding Use Of POW/MIA Flag

Columbus - 

The Ohio House today voted in favor of the “POW/MIA Remembrance Act” which would expand the use of the POW/MIA military flag at certain state buildings. The legislation would require that the flag, used to honor military individuals who are prisoners of war or missing in action, be flown at state operated buildings on Armed Forces Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, Independence Day, National POW/MIA Recognition Day and Veterans’ Day.


Guest Column From State Representative Scott Wiggam: The State Operating Budget


Every two years Ohio is required to enact a balanced budget. Introduced by the governor and amended by the House and Senate, this budget allocates anticipated revenues to various state agencies and other government functions, including schools, libraries and local government.  


Representative Wiggam Sworn In As State Representative Of The 1st House District

Columbus - 

State Representative Scott Wiggam (R-Wooster) was sworn in yesterday as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 132nd General Assembly. He represents the 1st Ohio House District, which encompasses all of Wayne County.