Today, the conference committee on Amended Substitute House Bill 64, the state operating budget, voted to adopt the committee report and move the legislation to the Ohio House and Senate floors.

Chairman of the House Finance Committee, Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell), released a statement regarding the adoption of the conference committee report:

“After continual and productive conversations with those on the conference committee, members of the House Finance Committee, and members of the Senate Finance Committee, we were able to craft a committee report for Am. Sub. H.B. 64 that focuses on the areas that matter most to Ohioans—lower taxes, quality education for our children and comprehensive medical coverage. I look forward to taking the next steps and discussing further with my colleagues in the House as we work to pass the budget in the coming days.”

Featured Posts

Ohio House Finance Committee Introduces Budget Sub. Bill


The Ohio House Finance Committee today introduced Substitute House Bill 64, legislation which outlines the two-year budget proposal for Ohio by making appropriations and providing policy initiatives in various areas such as education, taxes and healthcare.


Smith Announces Passage Of Bill Requiring The Reporting Of Drug-Dependent Newborns


State Representative Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) announced today that the Ohio House of Representatives has passed legislation to better monitor the births of babies who are dependent on addictive drugs.


Rep. Smith, Members Of Rx Addiction Study Committee Release Findings And Recommendations


Vice Chairman of the House Prescription Drug Addiction and Healthcare Reform Study Committee Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) yesterday joined other members of the study committee at a press conference to discuss the study committee’s recommendations and findings.


Ryan Smith Sworn In As State Representative Of The 93rd House District


State Representative Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) today was sworn in as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 130th General Assembly. He represents the 93rd Ohio House District, which includes Gallia and Jackson counties, as well as portions of Lawrence and Vinton counties.