Columbus - 

State Representative Bob Cupp (R-Lima) supported action by the Ohio House Education and Career Readiness Committee, on which he serves, to approve proposed legislation to add computer science as a recognized high school curriculum option.

House Bill 170 would require the State Board of Education to adopt academic content standards and model curriculum for computer science in Ohio’s schools. Schools would not be required to adopt the standards. Under the bill, students could elect to take a computer science course in lieu of Algebra II, most science courses, and as an elective in high school.

“It is important to integrate a computer science option into high schools across Ohio. Many witnesses before the committee representing Ohio technology companies stressed the need for more individuals skilled in computer programing and the job opportunities that exist for those individuals,” said Cupp, who is chairman of the legislature’s Joint Committee on Education Oversight. 

“Not only will academic standards for computer science courses create valuable opportunities for more Ohioans to obtain needed jobs, but will also incentivize employers to operate in Ohio and utilize those graduates to fill the jobs in this ever-changing industry,” added Representative Cupp.

House Bill 170, sponsored by Representatives Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Township) and Mike Duffey (R-Worthington), now awaits a vote by the full House of Representatives.

Featured Posts

Cupp Brings House Task Force On BRAC And Military Affairs To Joint Systems Manufacturing Center

Lima - 

Today, State Representative Bob Cupp (R-Lima) and the Ohio Speaker’s Task Force on Base Realignment and Closure (BRAC) and Military Affairs visited the Joint Systems Manufacturing Center (JSMC) in Lima.


Representative Cupp Sworn In As State Representative Of The 4th House District

Columbus - 

State Representative Bob Cupp (R-Lima) was sworn in yesterday as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 132nd General Assembly. He represents the 4th Ohio House District, which comprises all of Allen County, for a second term.