Today, State Representative Robert McColley (R-Napoleon) and State Representative Barbara Sears (R-Monclova Twp) presented a resolution to the Pike-Delta-York High School wrestling team for their outstanding showing at this year’s state wrestling tournament and for becoming the Division III State Champions once again.  

“The Delta wrestling team’s tradition of great success is truly something to be recognized,” Representative McColley said. “The team is the gold standard for wrestlers across the state of Ohio and across our region. It was my pleasure to recognize not only the team but the individual state champions who have added their names to the long list of accomplished wrestlers at Delta.”
The team defeated Mechanicsburg High School with a score of 41-21 in the final match to win the Division III state championship at St. John Arena.

In addition to the team’s historical win, four wrestlers on the team won individual titles. Drew Mattin, Jake Speiss, Jesse Beverly, and Dustin Marteney were all 2016 Division III state wrestling champions in their respective weight classes.

The Pike-Delta-York High School wrestling team was present to receive the resolution, along with their coaches, Anthony Carrizales, Sam Carrizales, and Robin Rayfield.

Featured Posts