House Bill 386 was unanimously voted out of House State Government Committee, led by bill sponsor, State Representative Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek). The proposed seal would include a visual depiction of the Wright Flyer, which was the first successful, heavier-than-air, powered aircraft, and was engineered and built in Dayton, Ohio.

The bill sponsor asserts that the addition of the Wright Flyer would not only serve as commemoration of the revolutionary invention of powered flight, but also would aid in branding the state as an aviation and aerospace powerhouse, promoting economic growth in the aerospace and aviation sectors of Ohio.

“I would like to reiterate, this bill is not just about Dayton, it unifies the entire state,” Perales said. “This bill is not just about the past, it promotes an environment of technological ingenuity so that we can continue to make the impossible possible.”

Amanda Wright Lane, great-grandniece to the Wright brothers, testified before the committee, explaining that the presence of the Wright Flyer on the state seal is also historically significant.

Lane, who serves on the Ohio Aerospace and Aviation Council, is an active supporter of Ohio’s deep aviation history. She concluded her testimony by stating, “I would argue strongly that we should add the Wright Flyer to our great State of Ohio's seal, and set ourselves apart as Ohioans again. That [would be] truly exceptional, truly extraordinary, and truly representative of the heart and genius of Ohioans.”

Featured Posts

Rep. Rick Perales Appointed To Chair Of House Higher Education Subcommittee

Columbus - 

Today, Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) appointed Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek) as chair of the House Finance Higher Education Subcommittee.


Rick Perales Sworn In As State Representative Of The 73rd House District


State Representative Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek) recently was sworn in as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 130th General Assembly. He represents the 73rd Ohio House District, which includes Bath Township, Beavercreek, Bellbrook, Centerville, Clifton Village, Fairborn, Huber Heights, Kettering, Miami Township, Sugarcreek Township and Yellow Springs Village.