COLUMBUS—Speaker Larry Householder (R-Glenford) today announced the passage of House Bill 62, legislation that makes appropriations for programs related to transportation and public safety for the biennium beginning July 1, 2019, and ending June 30, 2021, and to provide authorization and conditions for the operation of those programs.  This budget totals $7.94 billion over the biennium.

HB 62 increases Ohio’s motor fuel tax on gasoline by 10.7 cents and diesel fuel by 20 cents. These increases yield approximately $872 million and would be gradually increased over the span the phase-in period. The motor fuel tax on gasoline would be phased-in by 7 cents in 2019 and 3.7 cents in 2020. The motor fuel tax on diesel would be phased-in over a three year period.  This tax would increase by 10 cents in 2019, 6 cents in 2020, and 4 cents in 2021. The increases will be divided 55/45 between the Ohio Department of Transportation and local governments, increasing local revenue to approximately $390 million per year.

Additionally, electric vehicles will be charged $200 and hybrid vehicles will be charged $100 yearly in registration fees to contribute to Ohio’s transportation improvements. The House plan also increases investment in public transit to $100 million annually per year.

The transportation budget will create Ohio’s Road to the Future Committee to study Ohio’s infrastructure needs. This committee will report back to the Ohio General Assembly by October 1, 2019.

“Chairman Oelslager and the Ohio House Finance Committee worked tirelessly to fund Ohio’s transportation needs,” stated Householder. “The House plan fulfills Ohio’s immediate transportation and public safety needs, and looks toward the future. It provides innovative ways to enhance Ohio’s transportation infrastructure, and ensures that we as a legislature have oversight and accountability over the Ohio Department of Transportation.”

The bill passed with 71 affirmative votes and 27 negative votes and now heads to the Ohio Senate for further consideration.

Featured Posts

Representative Larry Householder Elected Speaker


COLUMBUS – On January 7th, Representative Larry Householder (R-Glenford) was elected Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 133rd General Assembly. Householder represents the 72nd House District, encompassing all of Coshocton and Perry counties, as well as parts of Licking County. Representative Householder, currently serving his second consecutive term in the Ohio House, previously served as Speaker from 2001 to 2004.


Speaker Householder Announces Several Appointments


COLUMBUS – Speaker Larry Householder made several appointments today to the following special committees, the Controlling Board, and the Legislative Task Force on Redistricting. 


Speaker Householder Announces Ohio House Communications Director


COLUMBUS –Speaker Larry Householder today announced the selection of Gail Crawley as Communications Director for the Ohio House of Representatives.


Representative Hambley Appointed To Co-Chair Of Newly Created Economic Development Committee

Columbus - 

State Representative Steve Hambley (R-Brunswick) this week was appointed by Ohio House Speaker Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) to serve as Co-Chair of the Regional Economic Development Alliance Study Committee.