House Republicans Nominate Ryan Smith As Speaker For 133rd General Assembly
House Majority leadership team selected by Republican Caucus
Posted December 27, 2018 by Majority Caucus

COLUMBUS—Today, a majority of Ohio House Republican members selected their leadership team for the 133rd General Assembly. Current Speaker of the Ohio House, Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell), was again selected by his legislative peers to serve as Speaker.

Additionally, State Representative Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Township) will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore, Rep. Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati) will continue to serve as the Majority Floor Leader, and Rep. Sarah LaTourette (R-Chesterland) will continue to serve as Assistant Majority Floor Leader. The House Republican Whip team will again include Rep. Tom Patton (R-Strongsville) as the Majority Whip and Rep. Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) as the Assistant Majority Whip.

Speaker Smith released the following statement:

“I’m incredibly proud of the work this caucus has accomplished since I was elected Speaker earlier this year, and I have every confidence that members will continue to work together to make Ohio communities stronger. It is truly humbling to be selected again by my legislative colleagues to serve as Speaker, and it is an honor to lead this caucus going into the 133rd General Assembly. We have a lot of work to do, and I’m ready to hit the ground running on January 7th.”

The official swearing in of new members and leadership positions will occur on Monday, January 7, 2019 during opening day ceremonies in Columbus.

Featured Posts

Representative Larry Householder Elected Speaker


COLUMBUS – On January 7th, Representative Larry Householder (R-Glenford) was elected Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 133rd General Assembly. Householder represents the 72nd House District, encompassing all of Coshocton and Perry counties, as well as parts of Licking County. Representative Householder, currently serving his second consecutive term in the Ohio House, previously served as Speaker from 2001 to 2004.


Speaker Householder Announces Several Appointments


COLUMBUS – Speaker Larry Householder made several appointments today to the following special committees, the Controlling Board, and the Legislative Task Force on Redistricting. 


Speaker Householder Announces Ohio House Communications Director


COLUMBUS –Speaker Larry Householder today announced the selection of Gail Crawley as Communications Director for the Ohio House of Representatives.


Representative Hambley Appointed To Co-Chair Of Newly Created Economic Development Committee

Columbus - 

State Representative Steve Hambley (R-Brunswick) this week was appointed by Ohio House Speaker Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) to serve as Co-Chair of the Regional Economic Development Alliance Study Committee.