Ashford Commemorates 50th Anniversary Of Voting Rights Act
Must remain vigilant against any efforts that threaten access to ballot box
August 05, 2015
[ Michael Ashford Home | Michael Ashford Press ]

Democratic legislators in both the House and Senate today announced resolutions commemorating the 50th anniversary of the federal Voting Rights Act. Passed in 1965 and signed by President Lyndon B. Johnson, the Voting Rights Act was a historic piece of civil rights legislation that guaranteed all Americans – regardless of race – the constitutional right to vote without unfair barriers. The honorary resolutions will be introduced by Reps. Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent) and Alicia Reece (D-Cincinnati) in the House and Senate Minority Leader Joe Schiavoni (D-Boardman) and Senator Charleta Tavares (D-Columbus) in the Senate. 

Rep. Michael Ashford (D-Toledo) released the following statement regarding the anniversary of the Voting Rights Act: 

“While we have made significate progress in securing the right to vote for all Americans, this country still faces challenges in the voting process. We have to continue to fight to ensure that every American has the right to vote.”  

Featured Posts