COLUMBUS—State Representative Kristina Roegner (R-Hudson) today applauded Governor Kasich’s signing of House Bill 455, legislation she joint-sponsored that allows local governments to establish a boarding school zone.

The bill, now signed into law, gives municipal corporations and townships the authority to create a school zone surrounding boarding schools. With only seven boarding schools in Ohio, there has previously been some uncertainty regarding the creation of school zones and their traffic restrictions for these unique establishments.

“I recognize and respect the fact that each boarding school is unique, each with their individual schedules, students, routes used, hours, and more,” said Rep. Roegner. “The ability to exercise control over the speed limits in these boarding school zones should remain in local control, and it does through House Bill 455.”

Specifically, the legislation allows the local governments to change the speed limit on any street or highway within the boarding school zone and determine the hours during which the altered speed limit takes effect. The boarding school zone has similar traffic restrictions to traditional school zones.

Featured Posts

Rep. Roegner Encourages Constituents To Submit Online Legislative Survey


State Representative Kristina Daley Roegner (R-Hudson) has set up an online legislative survey in an effort to gain feedback from the residents of the 37th Ohio House District regarding a variety of state issues. The survey can be accessed at


Ohio House Passes Boiler Legislation


The Ohio House of Representatives, with bipartisan support, has passed legislation dealing with Ohio’s boiler law that would allow businesses and individuals to operate low-pressure steam boilers or power boilers, or a stationary steam engine, without the presence of a licensed boiler operator or steam engineer.


Kristina Daley Roegner Sworn In As State Representative Of The 37th House District


State Representative Kristina Daley Roegner (R-Hudson) today was sworn in as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 130th General Assembly. She represents the 37th Ohio House District, which includes portions of central and northeast Summit County.