COLUMBUS - 

State Representative Kyle Koehler (R-Springfield) announced today that Ohio’s first-ever, one-time Sales Tax Holiday will begin on Friday, August 7th at 12:01 a.m. and will end on Sunday, August 9th at 11:59 p.m. This initiative was created through Senate Bill 243, signed into law in December of 2014.


“I am a firm believer that any time we can help taxpayers keep more of their hard-earned money, the individuals earning the money are empowered,” said Koehler. “Many people do not realize that just 43 years ago, Ohio had no income tax, and it wasn't until 1935 that Ohioans started paying sales tax. This Sales Tax Holiday is a great event for Ohioans and Ohio retailers."


The sales tax holiday will be especially beneficial for back-to-school shopping, and the tax exempt items are as follows:




  • Clothing priced at $75 or less




  • School supplies priced at $20 or less




  • School instructional material priced at $20 or less




These price limits apply on a per-item basis, and Ohioans can purchase as many items as they need. Items with a price higher than these limits will be taxed at the standard rate.


Additional information on the Sales Tax Holiday is available through the Ohio Department of Taxation at http://www.tax.ohio.gov/sales_and_use/SalesTaxHoliday.aspx.

 
 
 
  
Featured Posts