The Ohio House Democratic Caucus today announced its leadership team for the 133rd General Assembly. In an all-caucus vote, Democrats re-elected state Rep. Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) as Minority Leader.

“The dedication to improving the lives of everyday Ohioans our leadership team, members and staff have shown over the past two years is remarkable, and our state is better for it,” said Strahorn. “Over the next two years, it is critical that we continue working together to grow opportunity from the middle out so that every Ohioan has a fighting chance to get ahead.”

Current members of House leadership, state Reps. Emilia Sykes (D-Akron) and Brigid Kelly (D-Cincinnati), will be the next Assistant Minority Leader and Minority Whip, respectively.

“I am humbled by the support of my colleagues and am eager to continue our work as a caucus to support an agenda that lifts the voices of all Ohioans,” said Sykes. “We have an opportunity these next two years to enact real, commonsense reforms to expand economic opportunity, reform our broken criminal justice system and move Ohio forward.”

State Rep. Nicholas J. Celebrezze (D-Parma) didn’t seek an additional term as state representative, effectively ending his service to the caucus as assistant minority leader.

“Ohioans want leaders who put people first, and that begins with getting out into our communities and addressing the issues that matter to everyday Ohioans— issues like attracting good-paying jobs, ending the opioid crisis and strengthening our neighborhoods,” Kelly said.

Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid), elected to be the next Assistant Minority Whip, rounds out the leadership team. He formerly served as the caucus’s policy chair.

“I am honored to join this leadership team united in our pursuit of a better Ohio,” said Smith. “I look forward to working together to increase opportunity for working families and to ensure everyone has a shot at the American Dream, right here in Ohio.”

Featured Posts

Dems Unveil Commonsense Solutions To Keep Kids And Communities Safe


Ohio House Democratic lawmakers today announced a number of proposals, including safe storage, red-flag and background check laws, commonsense measures they say will better keep kids and communities safe. The package comes amid debate on House Bill (HB) 178, controversial legislation Democrats say is a solution in search of a problem. 


Democratic Priorities Shape Budget As Bill Clears Ohio House


House Democratic lawmakers today voted in favor of the state budget, House Bill 166, which includes a number of key Democratic priorities, including a significant tax cut for working people and families. 


House Dems Lead Bipartisan Effort To End School Takeovers, Restore Local Control


House Democrats today announced the House passage of House Bill (HB) 154, a bipartisan effort to end state takeovers of local schools and restore control to local education officials. The bill comes amid questions of accountability, transparency and lackluster results from district takeovers in Youngstown, Lorain and East Cleveland.


Rep. Sweeney Statement On Voter Registration Study Group


State Rep. Bride Rose Sweeney (D-Cleveland) today issued a statement following a press conference announcing the creation of a bipartisan working group to study the potential for automated voter registration in Ohio.