State Representatives Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake) and Scott Ryan (R-Newark) today introduced legislation that would give local governments greater control and financial discretion over road repairs.

House Bill 415 would establish the Local Government Road Improvement Fund, which would be funded by 50 percent of state surplus revenue. Any revenue within the fund would be directly distributed to villages, cities, and townships to go towards road improvements.

“Maintaining our infrastructure is one of our core fundamental responsibilities,” said Rep. Greenspan. “This is a public safety, economic development, and overall quality of life issue for our local partners and this distribution formula of state surplus funds is equitable.”

The distribution of funds to counties would be based off the total number of miles of roadways maintained by a county divided by the total number of miles maintained by the state. The same holds true for roadways maintained by a political subdivision divided by the number maintained by a county.

“I am pleased to join Rep. Greenspan in offering this legislation which will provide an increased incentive for state and local governments to work together to provide more efficient government,” said Rep. Ryan. “This bill will assist in maintaining and improving local infrastructure that is vital to the economic success of all Ohioans.”

House Bill 415 now awaits a committee designation. 

Featured Posts

Legislation Safeguarding Taxpayer Dollars And Preventing Credit Card Abuse Passes Ohio House

Columbus - 

State Representatives Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake) today announced that the Ohio House has passed legislation creating standards for the use of credit and debit cards by political subdivisions, which he joint sponsored with Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton).


Representative Greenspan Sworn In As State Representative Of The 16th House District

Columbus - 

State Representative Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake) was sworn in yesterday as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 132nd General Assembly. He represents the 16th Ohio House District, which includes Bay Village, Fairview Park, North Olmsted, Rocky River, and Westlake.