Rep. Ramos Named Democratic Legislator Of The Year For Work Protecting Voting Rights
Lorain lawmaker honored by Ohio Association of Election Officials
January 14, 2016
[ Daniel Ramos Home | Daniel Ramos Press ]
Rep. Ramos with members of the Lorain County Board of Elections

State Rep. Dan Ramos (D-Lorain) today was named the 2015 Jack Wolfe “Democratic Legislator of the Year” by the Ohio Association of Election Officials (OAEO).  The OAEO cited the Lorain lawmaker’s informed, bipartisan approach to crafting legislation that expands and protects voting rights in Ohio as the key factor in his selection for the award. 

“It is a true honor to receive this award from the Ohio Association of Election Officials, named after Lorain County’s own Jack Wolfe,” said Ramos.  “I consider protecting our most sacred fundamental freedom in America a paramount responsibility of the legislature, and I am honored to work alongside our state elections officials to ensure that every Ohioan has unfettered access to our democracy and a guarantee that their vote will be counted.”

Each year, the Ohio Association of Election Officials recognizes one Republican and one Democrat in the General Assembly.  The awards are given out to legislators who have shown a keen interest in election legislation, have had a significant impact in the writing of that legislation, and have demonstrated a willingness to work with local boards of elections to craft bipartisan solutions to issues facing Ohio voters and election administrators. This year’s award recipients were recognized at the OAEO’s annual conference in downtown Columbus. 

The Ohio Association of Election Officials is a bipartisan organization representing the members and employees of Ohio’s 88 county boards of elections, their directors and deputy directors. OAEO offers training and education to its members to ensure fair and accurate elections for all Ohioans.  

Featured Posts