Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) and Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) today announced the new standing committee structure, along with committee chairs, vice chairs and ranking members, for the Ohio House of Representatives.

“In order to continue our momentum and to build upon our successes from the last General Assembly, I’m pleased to announce a solid, new committee structure for the 131st General Assembly,” Speaker Rosenberger said. “Along with the addition of two new standing committees, we have added the Minority Affairs Subcommittee, which builds the framework for further bipartisan collaboration. I know all chairs, vice chairs and ranking members stand ready to lead and to guide the pathway of legislation that makes sense for Ohio.”

"With this committee leadership in place, we have the right people in the right positions to take on the important issues facing Ohioans,” said Leader Strahorn. “These members have a strong, diverse and focused mix of talents and abilities that will contribute to a higher quality of life for everyday Ohioans. We are in a stronger position to make sure that all Ohioans can feel the promise and opportunity of our state.”

The House committees, as well as the members who will lead each committee, are as follows:

Agriculture & Rural Development

  • Chair: Rep. Brian Hill (R-Zanesville)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Tony Burkley (R-Payne)

  • Ranking member: Rep. John Patterson (D-Jefferson)   

Armed Services, Veterans Affairs and Public Safety

  • Chair: Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Hearcel Craig (D-Columbus)

Commerce & Labor

  • Chair: Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy Township)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Anthony DeVitis (R-Green)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Michele Lepore-Hagan (D-Youngstown)

Community & Family Advancement

  • Chair: Rep. Tim Derickson (R-Oxford)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Tim Ginter (R-Salem)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Stephanie Howse (D-Cleveland)

Community & Family Advancement Subcommittee

  • Minority Affairs (Chair: Rep. Kevin Boyce, D-Columbus)

Economic & Workforce Development

  • Chair: Rep. Nan Baker (R-Westlake)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Mark Romanchuk (R-Ontario)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid)


  • Chair: Rep. Bill Hayes (R-Harrison Township)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Teresa Fedor (D-Toledo)

Energy & Natural Resources

  • Chair: Rep. Al Landis (R-Dover)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Christina Hagan (R-Alliance)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta)

Finance & Appropriations

  • Chair: Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Denise Driehaus (D-Cincinnati)

Finance and Appropriations Subcommittees

  • Agriculture,      Development and Natural Resources (Chair: Rep. Andy Thompson, R-Marietta;      Ranking member: Rep. Sean O’Brien, D-Bazetta)

  • Health      and Human Services (Chair: Rep. Robert Sprague, R-Findlay; Ranking member:      Rep. Emilia Sykes, D-Akron)

  • Higher      Education (Chair: Rep. Mike Duffey, R-Worthington; Ranking member: Rep.      Dan Ramos, D-Lorain)

  • Transportation      (Chair: Rep. Cheryl Grossman, R-Grove City; Ranking member: Rep.      Alicia Reece, D-Cincinnati)

  • Primary      and Secondary Education (Chair: Rep. Bob Cupp, R-Lima; Ranking member:      Rep. Debbie Phillips, D-Albany)

Financial Institutions, Housing and Urban Development

  • Chair: Rep. Lou Terhar (R-Green Township)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Steve Hambley (R-Brunswick)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Christie Bryant Kuhns (D-Cincinnati)

Government Accountability & Oversight

  • Chair: Rep. Tim Brown (R-Bowling Green)       

  • Vice chair: Rep. Bill Blessing (R-Colerain Township)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent)

Health & Aging

  • Chair: Rep. Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood)


  • Chair: Rep. Robert Hackett (R-London)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Mike Henne (R-Clayton)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Heather Bishoff (D-Blacklick)


  • Chair: Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Michael Stinziano (D-Columbus)

Local Government

  • Chair: Rep. Marlene Anielski (R-Walton Hills)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township)

  • Ranking member: Rep. John Rogers (D-Mentor-on-the-Lake)

Public Utilities

  • Chair: Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Kristina Daley Roegner (R-Hudson)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Mike Ashford (D-Toledo)

Rules & Reference

  • Chair: Rep. Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster)

  • Vice chair: Speaker Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville)

  • Ranking member: Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton)

State Government

  • Chair: Rep. Ron Maag (R-Lebanon)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Stephanie Kunze (R-Hilliard)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Ronald Gerberry (D-Austintown)

Transportation & Infrastructure

  • Chair: Rep. Terry Boose (R-Norwalk)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Doug Green (R-Mt. Orab)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Michael Sheehy (D-Oregon)

Ways & Means

  • Chair: Rep. Jeff McClain (R-Upper Sandusky)

  • Vice chair: Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville)

  • Ranking member: Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire)

The full membership of these committees in their entirety will be announced at a later date.


Featured Posts

Speaker Rosenberger Announces Summer Traveling Committees, Creation Of A New Study Committee


Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today announced that two House standing committees will be touring the state to discuss various issues important to Ohioans. 


Happy Independence Day From The Ohio House Of Representatives!


Happy Independence Day from the Ohio House of Representatives!

Remember those who have served and sacrificed to make this country great.


House Votes To Send State Budget To Conference Committee


Today, following the passage of Am. Sub. House Bill 64 through the Senate, the Ohio House voted to reject Senate amendments and to send the state operating budget to conference committee. Speaker Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) released a statement.


Biennial Budget Clears Ohio House With Bipartisan Support


Today, the Ohio House of Representatives passed Amended Substitute House Bill 64, the biennial state budget bill that allocates funding to schools, community projects and government initiatives as well as providing significant tax relief to all Ohioans and small businesses in the state.