Ohio House Speaker Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) and members of the Ohio House Republican Caucus today elected two new members to the Majority Caucus Leadership Team for the 131st General Assembly.

Following the decision by State Rep. Barbara Sears (R-Monclova Twp.) and State Rep. Mike Dovilla (R-Berea) to step down from their respective roles on leadership, the caucus voted to name State Representative Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) as Majority Floor Leader and State Rep. Sarah LaTourette (R-Bainbridge Twp.) as Assistant Majority Whip. The current Assistant Majority Whip, State Rep. Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville), was elected to fill the role of Majority Whip.

The other three majority leadership posts remain unchanged.

In regards to today’s leadership election, Speaker Rosenberger released the following statement:
“During their time in leadership, Representatives Sears and Dovilla were tremendous assets to our caucus and to the Ohio House of Representatives. I am grateful for their diligent service and dedication, and I am eager to continue working with them throughout the remainder of the 131st General Assembly. As we move forward, I am confident that Reps. LaTourette and Schuring will continue to provide strong and steady counsel on policy initiatives as we work together to improve the quality of life for all Ohioans.”

A formal House vote on the leadership changes will occur tomorrow during House session.

Featured Posts

House Republicans Unveil OhioCorps Program


COLUMBUS—During a press conference this morning at the Ohio Statehouse, Ohio House Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) and State Representatives Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township) and Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) announced new legislation aimed at helping Ohio’s students, specifically those who are at-risk.


Ohio Military Facilities Commission Created As Part Of Amended Substitute House Bill 64


Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today announced that Amended Substitute House Bill 64 will include an amendment creating the Ohio Military Facilities Commission.


House Passes Resolution To Base Air Force Tankers In Ohio


The Ohio House of Representatives today passed House Concurrent Resolution 5 to urge the secretary and chief of staff of the United States Air Force to fully consider Rickenbacker Air Guard Station, in Columbus, as the location of the main operating base for the KC-46A tanker aircraft.