Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today announced the senior staff positions for the Ohio House Republican Caucus, effective Monday, January 5, 2015.

“I am more than pleased with the new staff positions being announced today and happy to recognize those who are staying with the caucus,” Speaker Rosenberger said. “These staff members are hardworking and diligent public servants, who are dedicated to upholding the House’s commitment to transparency and truthfulness. I’m looking forward to working with them to ensure that the Ohio House is managed smoothly and that we are joining together with the common goal of making the state stronger.”

In November, Speaker Rosenberger announced that Mike Dittoe would serve as majority caucus chief of staff, after serving as communications director under Speaker William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) and majority Republicans since 2011.

The following is a listing of senior staff for the Ohio House Republican Caucus:

Deputy Chief of Staff – Ben Webb

Ben Webb has served as legislative aide to Representative Rosenberger for the last three years after graduating from Miami University in 2011 with a B.A. in Public Administration as well as Urban and Regional Planning.

Policy Director – Shawn Kasych

Shawn Kasych previously served as a policy advisor under Speaker Batchelder during the 129th General Assembly, where he advised the House Public Utilities Committee and the Transportation Subcommittee, under the Finance and Appropriations Committee. Shawn’s additional legislative experience includes serving as legislative aide to former State Representative Bruce Goodwin and as a legislative page in the Senate Clerk’s Office. Most recently, Shawn served as director of government advocacy for the Cox Consulting Group. He is a graduate of St. Ignatius High School in Cleveland and Ohio State University where he earned a B.A. in History.

Deputy Policy Director – Dustin Russell

Prior to being hired on to his current role, Dustin Russell was the Reading and Committee Clerk for the Ohio House of Representatives during the 129th and 130th General Assemblies. Prior to this, he served as legislative aide for Representative Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster) in the House and Senate during the 127th, 128th and 129th General Assemblies and as legislative aide to Representative Batchelder during the 127th General Assembly.

Director of Communications – Carolyn Best

Most recently, Carolyn Best served as deputy director of communications for the Ohio House Majority Caucus. Previously, she served as a Legislative Service Commission fellow and as both administrative aide and legislative aide to Senator Jim Hughes (R-Columbus). She is a graduate of The Ohio State University, where she received a B.A. in Journalism.

Press Secretary – Brittany Warner

Brittany Warner is a graduate of The Ohio State University with a B.A. in Political Science. She began her career in the Ohio House in 2009 in the communications department. She served as a page under Minority Leader Batchelder and then as an executive assistant to Speaker Batchelder’s chief of staff. In 2011, Brittany began working as the deputy finance director at the Ohio House Republican Organizational Committee (OHROC).  Most recently, she served as the Executive Director of OHROC for the 2014 campaign cycle.

Deputy Director of Communications – Brad Miller

Brad Miller began as an intern for State Representative Rex Damschroder (R-Fremont) in 2011 and later that year joined the communications department under Speaker Batchelder. He is a graduate of The Ohio State University with a B.A. in Journalism.

Chief Legal Counsel – Michael Lenzo

Michael Lenzo will return as Chief Legal Counsel for the House Republican Caucus. Michael has been legal counsel for the caucus for the past six years, and prior to that he was a legislative aide for six years. Michael graduated from The Ohio State University with a B.A. in Economics and earned his J.D. from Capital University Law School.

Budget Director – Dan Baker

Dan Baker has served as budget director under Speaker Batchelder since 2011, after previously serving as budget director for the minority caucus since 2009. He began in the Ohio House in 2003 and became deputy budget director in 2005. He is a graduate of The Ohio State University.

Deputy Legal Counsel and Deputy Budget Director – Heather Mann

Heather Mann served as the policy director for Speaker Batchelder since March of this year, after serving as deputy policy director and deputy legal counsel previously. Heather has worked for the members of the Republican Caucus since 2001 in various capacities, including a Legislative Service Commission intern, legislative aide, deputy policy director, and one of the joint secretaries of the Ohio Apportionment Board.  She is a 2008 graduate of the Jo Ann Davidson Leadership Institute and holds a Juris Doctorate from Capital University Law School and a bachelor’s degree from The Ohio State University.

Featured Posts

House Republicans Unveil OhioCorps Program


COLUMBUS—During a press conference this morning at the Ohio Statehouse, Ohio House Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) and State Representatives Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township) and Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) announced new legislation aimed at helping Ohio’s students, specifically those who are at-risk.


Ohio Military Facilities Commission Created As Part Of Amended Substitute House Bill 64


Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today announced that Amended Substitute House Bill 64 will include an amendment creating the Ohio Military Facilities Commission.


House Passes Resolution To Base Air Force Tankers In Ohio


The Ohio House of Representatives today passed House Concurrent Resolution 5 to urge the secretary and chief of staff of the United States Air Force to fully consider Rickenbacker Air Guard Station, in Columbus, as the location of the main operating base for the KC-46A tanker aircraft.