State Representative Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) honored the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museums for its one hundredth anniversary with a resolution  during Wednesday’s Ohio House session.

"The Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museum set the standard for today's modern presidential library system one hundred years ago," Rep. Reineke said. "President Hayes' legacy is a tribute to power of democracy in our country. His historic house at Spiegel Grove and the museum center are the crown jewel of Fremont. Honoring the Hayes Center on its centennial anniversary is a testament to the role it plays in our community, and I am proud to recognize them with this resolution."

Founded as the nation’s first presidential library, the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museums was established in 1916 by the former Ohio Historical Society and Colonel Webb C. Hayes. The collection consists of presidential, local, and state documents, specifically donated by the Hayes family for the purpose of academic research into President Hayes' administration. This was the first time scholars could access the entire collection of presidential documents in order to further their studies.

The library and museum's goal is to foster awareness of the nation’s history so that it is never forgotten. The organization seeks to protect and keep the history of past President Rutherford B. Hayes.

Guests from the Hayes Center at Wednesday’s Ohio House session included Executive Director Christie Weininger, Director of Development Kathy Boukissen, Board Member Ted Prasse, Meghan Wonderly and Mary Lou Rendon.

Featured Posts

Rep. Bill Reineke Announces Sales Tax Holiday For First Weekend Of August

Columbus - 

State Representative Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) today announced that a sales tax holiday will be held this weekend, an opportunity for parents to receive some tax relief during back-to-school shopping in preparation for the new school year which will also stimulate economic activity for Ohio’s retailers. This year’s sales tax holiday was established by the state operating budget, House Bill 49.


Rep. Reineke Applauds Legislature's Approval Of Payday Lending Reform Legislation

Columbus - 

State Representative Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) applauded the Ohio House’s concurrence on Senate changes to House Bill 123, legislation sponsored by Reps. Kyle Koehler (R-Springfield) and Michael Ashford (D-Toledo). The bipartisan bill will reform the state’s payday lending industry and is aimed at lowering interest rates on loans and helping borrowers avoid endless debt cycles.