State Representative Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin) today applauded the Ohio House’s passage of two bills that work in conjunction to establish more transparent guidelines regarding certain benefit assistance programs.

House Bills 50 and 119 make reforms and updates to the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) and Medicaid assistance in an effort to eliminate fraud and ineligibility. By improving eligibility cross-checks and reporting, Ohioans in the greatest need of assistance will be better served.

House Bill 50, sponsored by Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster), will require SNAP debit cards to include a color photograph of at least one adult in a household on the front, seeking to deter trafficking of these cards.

House Bill 119, sponsored by Reps. Mike Henne (R-Clayton) and Robert McColley (R-Napoleon), makes changes to the administration of SNAP and Medicaid assistance in an effort to improve accountability and cut down on fraud. The reforms would require the Ohio Department of Jobs and Family Services and the Department of Medicaid to perform cross-checks of databases on a quarterly basis and gather information to determine eligibility of recipients.

The two benefits protection bills now head to the Ohio Senate for consideration.

Featured Posts