Today, State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) announced the passage of Senate Concurrent Resolution 2 (SCR 2), which urges the United States Congress to increase federal funding for research and development involving advanced medical technology used in the treatment of type 1 diabetes.

Type 1 diabetes, formerly known as juvenile diabetes, is usually diagnosed in children and young adults.  This condition occurs when the body does not produce enough insulin, which is needed for glucose to enter cells and create energy. Type 1 diabetes often strikes suddenly and has no cure, however research on a closed-loop insulin delivery system and islet cell transplantation has shown much promise. Additional funding is needed to continue this research and refine these types of treatments.

This resolution was heard in the House Health and Aging Committee, which is chaired by Representative Gonzales, before being considered on the House Floor, where it passed with bipartisan support.

“This disease does not receive nearly the amount of attention that it deserves,” said Chair Gonzales. “Congress needs to increase the research funding for this promising treatment program.”

SCR 2 will be sent to the President Pro Tempore of the United States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of the United States House of Representatives, and each member of the Ohio Congressional Delegation.

Featured Posts

Representative Gonzales Honors 2017 Division II Boys Golf State Champions

Columbus - 

State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) today honored the Gahanna Columbus Academy boys golf team on the House floor for winning the 2017 Division II State Championship.


Representative Gonzales Sworn In As State Representative Of The 19th House District

Columbus - 

State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) today was sworn in as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 132nd General Assembly. She represents the 19th Ohio House District, which includes the cities of Westerville, Gahanna and New Albany; Sharon, Blendon, Plain and Mifflin Townships; the Village of Minerva Park and portions of Columbus. This will be her fourth full term in the Ohio House.