House Bill 394 Gives Pharmacists More Authority
Legislation Provides Greater Access to Immunizations
April 03, 2014
[ Anne Gonzales Home | Anne Gonzales Press ]

State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) today applauded the passage of House Bill 394 by the Ohio House. The legislation gives pharmacists and pharmacy interns the authority to provide immunizations outside of a pediatrician.

Under current law, interns may only administer influenza immunizations, while pharmacists can provide shots for influenza, tetanus, and a range of other diseases. The bill would expand the list of permitted immunizations to any included on the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommended immunization schedules.

The bill specifies that pharmacy interns must be working under direct supervision when dispensing such a vaccination.

Rep. Gonzales said, “This bill is a great step in ensuring that Ohioans have as much access as possible to these vital vaccinations. The increased access that will be provided in this bill will help Ohio prevent outbreaks of diseases that can be so harmful to the public health.”

The legislation also lowers the minimum age of an individual who may receive an immunization from a pharmacist or pharmacy intern to 7. The pharmacist or intern must still obtain permission from a parent or guardian of the child.

House Bill 394 will now go to the Ohio Senate for consideration.

Featured Posts

Representative Gonzales Honors 2017 Division II Boys Golf State Champions

Columbus - 

State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) today honored the Gahanna Columbus Academy boys golf team on the House floor for winning the 2017 Division II State Championship.


Representative Gonzales Sworn In As State Representative Of The 19th House District

Columbus - 

State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) today was sworn in as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for the 132nd General Assembly. She represents the 19th Ohio House District, which includes the cities of Westerville, Gahanna and New Albany; Sharon, Blendon, Plain and Mifflin Townships; the Village of Minerva Park and portions of Columbus. This will be her fourth full term in the Ohio House.